also for the benefit of the Rural Power District which it serves. The northern part of the province is served by the Northern Ontario Properties, held and operated for the most part in trust for the province, but operated in part also for the benefit of a group of utilities supplied with power at cost. The Northern Ontario Properties include a Northeastern and a Northwestern Division. Each of these two Divisions is an integrated power system, the former being interconnected with the Southern Ontario System.

In addition to administering the enterprise over which it has direct control, the Commission exercises certain regulatory functions with respect to the group of municipal electrical utilities which it serves. In order to provide convenient and expeditious service in this dual function of regulation and supply, the Commission has subdivided its province-wide operations into nine regions, seven in the south and two in the north, with regional offices located in nine major municipalities. At present the two northern regions coincide with the two northern divisions.

The Commission is concerned primarily with the provision of electric power by generation or purchase and its delivery in bulk either for resale or for use in the industrial operations of certain customers served directly. Power for resale is delivered to the associated municipal electrical utilities, and to certain interconnected systems, including a number of independent municipal distribution systems, operating within or beyond the provincial boundaries. The industrial customers served directly include mines and industries in unorganized areas. Some power users located within areas served by the municipal utilities are also served by the Commission since their power requirements may be so large, or may create supply conditions so unusual, as to make service by the local municipal utilities impracticable. In total, bulk delivery for resale and for industrial use accounts for about 90 p.c. of the Commission's energy sales. The remaining 10 p.c. of the Commission's sales are made to ultimate customers either in rural areas served on behalf of the townships by the Commission's rural distribution facilities, or in a relatively small group of municipalities served by Commission-owned local distribution systems. In general, however, retail service to ultimate customers in most cities and towns, in many villages, and in certain populous township areas is supplied by the associated electrical utilities, owned and operated by local commissions and functioning under the general supervision of The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario as provided for in the Power Commission Act and the Public Utilities Act.

The Commission's power development program as at Dec. 31, 1960 is given in Table 17. Hydro, thermal and nuclear power plant construction completed or under way in Ontario during 1960 is outlined at pp. 579-580.

17.—Current Power Development Program of The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, as at Dec. 31, 1960

System and Development	Units	In Service	Capacity ¹
Southern Ontario System— Richard L. Hearn—Toronto. Nuclear Power Demonstration—near Des Joachims Generating Station Lakeview—near Toronto. Douglas Point Nuclear Power—near Kincardine	No. 8 1 4	1951-61 1961 1961-64 1964	kw. 1,200,000' 20,000' 1,200,000' 200,000'
Northern Ontario Properties— Northeastern Division— Red Rock Falls—Missisagi River Otter Rapids—Abitibi River Little Long—Mattagami River Harmon—Mattagami River Kipling—Mattagami River	2 4 2 3 3	1960-61 1961-63 1963 1965 1966	40,000 172,000 114,000 110,000 132,000
Northwestern Division— Thunder Bay—Fort William	1	1961	100,000

¹ Capacities quoted are dependable at time of system peak except those marked with an asterisk (*), which are installed capacities.